Harmonic Portico (2007) Cecil McDonald, Jr.

Harmonic Portico (2007) Cecil McDonald, Jr.

I like that the subject matter of this photo are the silhouettes of two girls playing a hand game. The denotation of the photograph includes the two girls playing, as well as the window that they are viewed through, and the outside wall that the window is set in. I found that the stark contrast of the pink and the blue was refreshing and gave the photograph a playful connotation, as opposed to a normal contrasting black and white photograph. I would say that the emphasis of the photograph, is the silhouettes of the two girls because the pink background stood out to me and is where I looked at first, then at the two blue silhouettes playing because they stood out against the pink. Our only vantage point is looking from the outside, in, giving the impression that this was intended to seem like a candid photograph of two girls playing.

