April Collins, age 19, Springfield, MO, July 1, 2004 Robin Bowman

After scanning several of the given websites, I settled on a photo by Robin Bowman for my first blog post assignment. I really liked that when I opened up this photo in its own window, the photographer had included an excerpt from the young woman, Robin Collins. I like that this photograph was taken in black and white because sometimes color can be so distracting. Since it’s not in color, her expression of hopelessness stands out, as well as her stretch marks on her belly. I liked the entire collaboration of photos that this particular photograph was found in, It’s Complicated: The American Teenager. All the pictures from this exhibition truly displayed the average American teenagers of our generation, each with their own stories presented with their pictures. I chose this photo from all the others because I can personally relate to April’s feelings of wanting the best for her daughter and wanting to better herself for her daughter’s sake since I have those same feelings regarding my own daughter. Looking at this picture, you would only see April’s struggle with her unexpected pregnancy at a young age, and wouldn’t know that she has also struggled with substance abuse and had an awful relationship with her mother. I really like that all the pictures include a little bit of each of the depicted teenager’s history because you realize that there is so much more to them than what is just on their surface. That’s how people look at each other though – we judge each other everyday by just what we see and sometimes fail to acknowledge the fact that a lot of us are experiencing the same things day-to-day.

